Emotional Eater (Great Garlic Es-Scapes)

Crappy days always make me want to eat crappy food. The moment I feel overwhelmed I want greasy-gross-sugar-coated-crap-on-a-stick in my mouth (bonus points if it comes with a dippin’ sauce). It’s true, I’m an “Emotional Eater” – any emotion will do – but frustration and anger are the two that can really send me into the ultimate junk food throw down. And today…well, today kinda sucked.

Nothing horrendous or earth-shattering happened. The baby was super fussy and cried anytime I wasn’t holding him. Not little whimpering cries, but ear-drum shattering “I’m on fire” cries that couldn’t be ignored. My bitter enemy, Technology, got the best of me, when (yet again) I could not make wireless internet happen. Four hours of modem, router, re-start, countless phone calls and crying. {yup. real tears. I am techno-tarded. I don’t understand it, I don’t want to understand it, I just want it to work. Is that so wrong?!} I ended up having to drive to Best Buy to drop off a piece of faulty equipment, which will take 3 weeks to have fixed after being shipped back to Samsung for repair. THREE WEEKS! Slow boat to China…don’t these people have Fed-Ex accounts?

And driving to Best Buy involved passing 3 Dunkin Donuts, a McDonalds, a Chik-Fil-A, and a Wendy’s. I saw an ad today for a new Wendy’s sandwich “The Baconator” with 6 strips of real bacon on their largest cheeseburger. And Wendy’s has Frosties, and the fat french fries that taste like real potato. Yup, I used to really like Wendy’s…that redheaded girl with her Siren’s song…luring me to pull up to the drive-thru, where she will wreck my health, drowning me in empty calories. Heartless Bitch.

But I resisted that call…because at home I had a brand new (to me anyway) vegetable waiting…Garlic Scapes! Purchased yesterday at my local Farm Stand in the City (props to Greensgrow), garlic scapes are the green tops of garlic. They are long and curly and crunchy and very vibrantly green. I had never eaten them before, didn’t have a clue how to prepare them, but couldn’t resist them.

Someone at the market told me to make pesto with them, that they are great raw, and I’m so happy that I did. It was delicious! A classic pesto calls for parmesan cheese, but being dairy free, I substituted a half of an avocado for that creamy texture.

Here’s what I used:

1 bunch fresh garlic scapes, 1/2 avocado, 1/4 cup pine nuts, 2 tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp veggie stock (instead of all olive oil, I used a little bit of a very flavorful oil and then veggie stock to get the desired consistency)

Here’s what I did:

Put everything in the mini-food-processor. Pushed the button.

I put it on everything I ate tonight. (A beautiful piece of sea bass and steamed summer squash) Tomorrow, I think it will go on top of some brown rice pasta. It has a rich garlicky taste – strong but not overpowering. It would be a great sandwich spread or I could thin it out a little more and use it as a salad dressing; I did get some lovely arugula at the market as well…(sometimes I really miss dairy – it would be perfect with a little goat cheese) I’ll keep you posted.

Now I am feeling a better. More calm and in control. I was craving fat, but instead of the Baconator, I ate olive oil, pine nuts and avocado. And sea bass, which has such a great buttery flavor all by itself. For dessert, I ate cherries (so perfectly sweet!) and cashews (yup, more nuts.) And the baby has been asleep for the last two hours. Aaahhhh…peace!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    mmendelsohn said,

    Ohhhh, boy, I MUST try that garlic-tops recipe. Looks delicious!

  2. 2

    David Cavuto said,

    Just a few suggestions as to your recipe…
    1) Toast/roast the pine nuts in a hot frying pan for a few minutes. It brings out their natural oils and doesn’t leave the pesto quite as “chalky”.

    2) Drizzle the oil in the top of the running food processor rather than dumping it in all at once. That’ll help it emulsify it better and help it retain its texture and consistency longer.

    Hope you don’t mind!

    -dC


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

