Chocolate & PB Frozen ‘Nanas

I have a sweet tooth. I can walk away from potato chips without flinching, because salty snacks just don’t satisfy me the way sugar does… Creamy candied pleasure, luscious chocolate gooey-ness, and the pinnacle of my dessert desire –   birthday cake. I have great affection for that hyper-sweet yellow confection, thick with  buttercream icing…

But knowledge is both a blessing and a curse, and becoming a nutritionist has really ruined a lot of sweet treats for me.  Now I know that (at least commercially) my favorite frosting is made from cheap hydrogenated soybean oil. Hydrogenated oils are a deal-breaker. When I’m shopping, if I see High Fructose Corn Syrup on an ingredient list, that item goes back on the shelf. I’m watching my added sugar intake like my life depends on it (Because  it does, with the way diabetes runs in my family!) Add to this I don’t eat gluten or dairy and what’s a gal to do?

Check out this incredibly delicious and goof proof recipe!

Chocolate & Peanut Butter Covered Frozen Bananas

Ingredients:

  • 3 bananas
  • 1 cup dark chocolate-chips
  • 2   tablespoons organic peanut butter

Materials:

  • 9 wooden popsicle sticks
  • parchment paper
  1. Peel bananas and cut into three sections. Gently insert a popsicle stick into the center.
  2. Place on a parchment paper lined tray and place in the freezer while you melt your chocolate.
  3. Combine chocolate chips and peanut butter in a double boiler. I use a Pyrex mixing bowl over a pot of softly boiling water. If you must use a microwave, set it on medium (power 6-7) until melted. Stir with a spatula until smooth.
  4. Pour melted chocolate into a tall, narrow glass or container. Remove bananas from freezer. Dip, one by one, into the chocolate, letting it ooze up the sides of the glass and coat the banana.
  5. Place bananas on tray again and sprinkle with nuts, if desired. I think cashew pieces are ideal. For an extra hit of chocolate, go ahead and put more chips on top. Or mix them together…mmmm…yum!
  6. Freeze until solid.

To enjoy: remove from freezer and allow to sit at room temperature for about five minutes.

The reason I like this so much (besides the fact that it hits all my pleasure centers – sweet, cold, & creamy) is the added protein from the peanut butter and nuts. In choosing a healthy treat, I look for a complex carb, a “good” fat and protein.  The banana is my complex carb, and the nuts act as both healthy fat (monounsaturated or MUFA) and protein source. I use chocolate that’s at least 65% cocoa, rich and dark and full of antioxidants.

Delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

